Infrastructures

Taichung actively builds infrastructures on top of its location advantages and works towards making Taichung the gateway for visitors and offering convenience and free flow of cargos. High speed rails, railways and highway buses also make Taichung a hub for day trips. Besides, because of its location, Taichung is the only city in Taiwan where people can travel to any of the other five special municipalities in an hour.

臺中航空站航廈全景
臺中航空站航廈全景

Taichung International Airport

Taichung International Airport is working towards the goal of being one of the airports that serves both international flights and direct cross-strait flights to people in the central area. The airport continues improving its designs for custom traffic flows and upgrading service facilities. The airport is aiming at moderately adding new international flights within a radius of 4 to 6 hours flight time. The newly built terminal could service 1.7 million passengers. The new and existing terminals combined can handle 2.9 million visitors per year.

The airport hosts international flights such as Hong Kong, Macao, Vietnam (Ho Chi Minh City and Hanoi), Korea (Incheon), Japan (Okinawa, Kansai and Nagasaki) and the scheduled or non-scheduled direct cross-strait flights include Shanghai, Xiamen, Guangzhou, Shenzhen, Nanjing, Jinan, Qingdao, Hohhot, Hefei, Taiyuan, Nanning, Yichang, Kunming, Tianjin, Chengdu and any future international and cross-strait flights airlines may apply and get approval by the Civil Aeronautics Administration.

Taichung International Airport officially started handling international cargo transportation since February 5th, 2015. It is expected for the airport to handle around 8,600 tons of cargos at the beginning and brings convenience to cargo owners located in the center part of Taiwan to deal with import and export procedures.

臺中國際機場官方網站
臺中車站
臺中車站

Taiwan Railway

Both western mountain line and ocean line offered by the Taiwan Railway make stops at Taichung. The only special class station in the central Taiwan – Taichung Station services average 50,000 passengers every day. Visitors can connect to public transportation such as highway buses, city buses and public bikes from here.

臺灣鐵路局官方網站
台灣高鐵
台灣高鐵

Taiwan High Speed Rail

Taiwan High Speed Rail offers high speed railway services between major cities on the western Taiwan. There are currently nine stations – Nangang, Taipei, Banqiao, Taiyuan, Hsinchu, Taichung, Chiayi, Tainan and Kaohsiung. The lines can operate as fast as 300 km per hour and with an on-time rate of over 99.6%. The fastest it takes from Taichung to any of the five special municipalities by the high speed trains is 40 minutes.

臺灣高鐵官方網站

Highway Buses

Major passenger buses stations in Taichung are: Taichung Bus Station, Chungkang Interchange, Chao Ma Interchange, and Shuinan Transportation Center. Various bus companies offer routes connecting counties and cities and offer visitors a wide range of alternatives to reach their destinations.

交通部公路總局官方網站
台中市公車
台中市公車

City Buses

Ever since the “first 10 km free” policy took place and the bus routes on Taiwan Boulevard were optimized, the increase rate of bus usages in Taichung tops the six special municipalities while traffic congestions during rush hours reduced, traffic accidents lessened, air quality improved and carbon emissions lowered.

交通局公共運輸處官方網站
臺中港
臺中港

Taichung Port

Taichung Port owns a huge hinterland and is the important hub for consolidating loose products like coal, natural gases, imported cars, powder, chemical materials, timber and machineries. The port also hosts the Chungkang Export Processing Zone and has the highest cargo throughput rate in Taiwan in these two years. Besides, to boost cruise travel in the central Taiwan, large cruise ship terminals are under construction and the cruise businesses are promoting cruise travel packages together with the government.

臺中港務公司官方網站
ibike
ibike

Public Bikes

Taichung City Government is planning on building a bicycle sharing system (ibike) to cover the last mile to peoples’ final destinations. As of July 2017, there were 214 bike stations in Taichung City. It is encouraged that people use low pollution and low energy consumption bike-sharing system as a short-distance transportation method. By doing this, there will be less people own and use personal motor vehicles, reducing the traffic congestions in the city, decreasing the environment pollution and energy consumption.

ibike臺中市公共自行車官方網站

Besides a world class fossil fuel power station, Taichung also hosts the largest hydroelectric power station in Taiwan. To promote green energy, the Taichung City Government encourages local businesses to generate power from their own resources and actively invests in building solar power facilities. Taiwan Power Company values Taichung’s privileged location and plans on building the one in the Taichung Port the largest offshore wind farm in the Southeast Asia.

風電
風電
大甲溪發電廠
大甲溪發電廠
太陽能
太陽能

To secure the basic livelihood, Taichung’s tap water coverage rate increase at the fastest pace among the six special municipalities. In response to the prosperous industry growths in the Taichung area, Water Resource Agency of the Ministry of Economic Affairs keeps promoting “The Project of conjunctive use of water sources from Da-Jia & Da-An river” to ensure reliable water supply for the region.

Taiwan offers low-cost water and electricity. Taiwan has the world’s second lowest water cost, third lowest residential electricity cost and the eighth lowest industrial electricity cost.

臺中電廠
臺中電廠

Wind Farm Clusters

The “Taichung Port 2.0 Project” planned by the Taichung City Government will make the northern part of the Taichung Port an area for tourism and leisure activities – with Sungpai Fishing Harbor, cruise ship terminals, an electricity museum, a marine biology aquarium where white dolphins live in, Wuqi Fishing Port and Gaomei Wetlands. The north part of the port also temporally hosts wind farms due to needs to load, unload and assemble wind turbines.

In the mid to long run, the wind farm clusters should be moved from the northern tourism and leisure activities area to the south part of the port where the reclaimed land will be. The squared shaped new area will be home for the green energy industry clusters, as outlined in the “Taichung Port 2.0 Project”.

智慧網路
智慧網路(0800-081-051)

Taichung is proud of having a very high Wi-Fi coverage rate. The City Government is also adding more than a thousand iTaichung free hotspots in commercial districts, transportation interchanges and convenience stores across the city. In addition, users can use their iTaichung login to access the free Wi-Fi from TANetRoaming or iTaiwan networks in various colleges and institutions campuses in Taichung, Changhua and Nantou. By consolidating the network resources, our Wi-Fi services can cover more areas and be more convenient to use.

基礎建設環境

臺中結合與生俱來的區位優勢並積極建設基礎設施,目前已朝向海空港的「中進中出」方向進行,提升旅客便利性及貨物流通性;陸地上則配合高鐵、台鐵與公路達成一日生活圈,也因位處臺灣中心地帶成為全臺唯一可於一小時內抵達五都的都市。

臺中航空站航廈全景
臺中航空站航廈全景

臺中國際機場

積極以「中部地區之區域性國際機場及兩岸直航機場之一」的定位方向發展,持續調整旅客出入境通關動線及改善機場服務設施,以航程在4-6小時涵蓋範圍,適度拓展國際區域航線。新建國際航廈年旅客服務容量為170萬人次,與既有航廈合計年服務容量可提升為290萬人次。

國際航線計有香港、澳門、越南(胡志明、河內)、韓國(仁川)、日本(沖繩、關西、長崎)等;兩岸航線計有上海、廈門、廣州、深圳、南京、濟南、青島、呼和浩特、合肥、太原、南寧、宜昌、昆明、天津、成都等定期與不定期航線,以及後續由航空公司申請,奉民航局核准之國際暨兩岸航線。

臺中國際機場於104年2月5日已正式提供國際航空貨運服務,初期將可提供每年約8,600噸貨物處理容量,便利中部地區貨主就近辦理貨物進出口業務。

臺中國際機場官方網站
臺中車站
臺中車站

臺灣鐵路

臺灣鐵路西部幹線山海線皆經臺中。中部唯一特等站-臺中火車站為本市每日平均進出旅客量達5萬餘人次,從這裡為交通結點輻射出去的為城市大眾運輸系統,包含公路客運、公車、共享單車等。

臺灣鐵路局官方網站
台灣高鐵
台灣高鐵

臺灣高鐵

臺灣高鐵提供臺灣西部主要城市之間的高速鐵路客運服務,目前共設置南港、臺北、板橋、桃園、新竹、臺中、嘉義、臺南及高雄等9處車站,行駛最高速度為每小時300公里,準點率高達99.6%。從臺中搭乘高鐵至其他五都,最快僅需40分鐘。

臺灣高鐵官方網站
水湳轉運站
水湳轉運站

公路客運

臺中主要客運轉運站為::臺中轉運站、中港轉運站、朝馬轉運站、水湳轉運站等,結合國內各大客運業者,加深各縣市鏈結,提供民眾多元替代方案。
官方網站:交通部公路總局

交通部公路總局官方網站
台中市公車
台中市公車

市公車

臺中自推出「十公里免費」,並推動台灣大道優化公車路線後,運量成長比例位居六都第一,同時達到紓解尖峰時間交通阻塞情形、減少交通意外、改善空氣品質與減碳等多重效果。

交通局公共運輸處官方網站
臺中港
臺中港

臺中港

臺中港腹地廣大,是集散煤礦、天然氣、進口車、粉末、化工原料、木材、機械等散裝貨物的重要港口,中港加工出口區也位於港區內,近兩年貨運吞吐量晉升為全國第一。為帶動中臺灣遊輪觀光產業,目前已有大型遊輪碼頭興建中,並配合政府共同行銷。

臺中港務公司官方網站
ibike
ibike

公共自行車

臺中市政府規劃建置公共自行車租賃系統(ibike)做為大眾運輸系統最後一哩的接駁工具,截自2017年7月,ibike已在臺中市建置214個站點。鼓勵民眾使用低污染、低耗能的公共自行車作為短程接駁運具,減少及移轉私人機動車輛之持有及使用,以達改善都市道路交通擁擠、環境污染及能源損耗目的。

ibike臺中市公共自行車官方網站

臺中不只有世界級火力發電廠,臺灣最大的慣常水力發電廠業位於臺中。為推動綠能發展,臺中市政府鼓勵民間企業自主發電,並積極投資太陽能建設。台電也看中臺中優越地理位置,欲於臺中港打造東南亞最大離岸風電港。

風電
風電
大甲溪發電廠
大甲溪發電廠
太陽能
太陽能

為保障民生基本需求,臺中自來水普及成長率為六都第一。因應臺中地區產業蓬勃發展,經濟部水利署持續推動「大安大甲溪水源聯合運用輸水工程計畫」以穩定供應地區用水。

臺灣水電成本負擔低廉,臺灣水費負擔率為全球第二低,住宅電價是全球第三低,工業電價全球第八便宜。

臺中電廠
臺中電廠

風力發電發展聚落

臺中規劃「臺中港2.0計畫」,港區北段係搭配松柏漁港、遊艇碼頭、電力博物館、白海豚海洋生態館、梧棲漁港及高美濕地等定位為觀光休閒區,考量現況風力發電機組碼頭裝卸及組裝需求,短期風力發電產業於碼頭區北側臨時使用。

中長期則應配合本市規劃「臺中港2.0計畫」定位,未來本區發展風力發電產業聚落,應逐步脫離臺中港區北段觀光遊憩發展區域,並建議往港區南段未來新填方區形塑整體綠能產業聚落。

智慧網路
智慧網路(0800-081-051)

臺中市無線網路覆蓋率相當高,政府更於全市各處商圈、交通轉乘點及超商等增建超過1千個iTaichung免費熱點服務,民眾在臺中、彰化、南投各大專院校內識別「TANetRoaming」或「iTaiwan」的無線網路訊號,皆可使用iTaichung單一帳號享受免費上網服務,藉由跨單位的網路資源整合,讓服務更全面、廣泛而便利。